Svein Magnus Furu was born 10. Nov 1983 in Oslo, Norway. His musical career started playing alto saxophone in a school band, later also in a big band for youngsters. This is also where he picked up the tenor, witch would later be his “weapon of choice”. In 1999 he entered music college, mostly playing classical saxophone, but also in various funk and punk bands. During these years he also took jazz lessons with trumpeter Eckhard Bauer. After a year in the Staff Band of the Norwegian Armed Forces, he devoted his time solely to jazz and improvised music. He continued his studies at the jazz course at Sund Folkehøgskole north of Trondheim, and was admitted to the Norwegian Academy of Music in 2004. He finished his studies with Fredrik Ljungkvist,

Morten Halle and Ivar Grydeland spring 2008. Svein Magnus Furu has played more than 100 concerts in a dozen different countries with several bands the last few years: Stian Around a Hill Quartet, Trabant, Aphrodisiac, Fence, Diplodokus duo, kvartett or trio and Johannesen / Furu duo, and has played with among others Øyvind Brække, Thomas Dahl, Lene Grenager, Joel Grip, Eirik Hegdal, Aksel Jensen, Geir Lysne, Jo Berger Myhre, Tatsuya Nakatani and many more. He has participated on noumerous records the las years, including SAHQ (AIM Sound City), Johannesen Furu duo (Creative sources), Johannesen / Furu / Sandbakken (AIM Sound City) ("Kayak" nominated for Norwegian Grammy), Aphrodisiac (Park Grammofon), Andrea Kvintett (NorCD) and Trabant (Pine Productions). He is living in Asker with his wife Ida, conducts a schoolband and teaches youth in the area and also writes jazz reviews in Morgenbladet and Jazznytt.


Johannesen / Furu duo - The Eco Logic
(Creative Sources 2009)

Stian Around a Hill Quartet - Lille Stille
(Aim Sound City 2009)

Aphrodisiac - Yearning

(Park Grammofon 2010)

Kim Johannesen / Svein Magnus Furu / Tore T Sandbakken - Kayak (AIMSoundCity 2009)

Trabant - Sanger fra Fredensborg Bibliotek

(Pine Productions 2012)

Andrea Kvintett - Andrea

(NorCD 2012)

Andrea Kvintett - Russian Dream (EP)

(NorCD 2013)